For the last couple of months, I have been receiving virus emails that are made to look like they are coming from addskin@skinnables.org. Being a programmer who has a very good understanding of SMTP (Simple Mail Transfer Protocol – the protocol that sends email), I know that this is very easy to achieve. It was also immediately clear to me that these emails were not coming from Skinnables, as the header of the emails clearly indicate which mail servers are sending these emails. If you want to check it out in Outlook, open an email, then click View, then Options and look at the value of Received in the Internet Headers section which displays the sending mail server.
I have known the good people at Skinnables for over a year and I know that they are not behind this. After a couple of months, I grew tired of receiving these emails and I got in touch with integer over at Skinnables. It turns out that he has been getting emails from apps@highertendencies.com. It seems the same person has been impersonating myself and my website to distribute these virus emails. This appears to be a deliberate action due to the nature of the email subject and body content, rather than someone out on the net who is themselves infected with a virus.
I am not sure if other websites are suffering this abuse, but please ignore any virus emails that look like they are coming from Higher Tendencies or Skinnables. If you want to check the validity of any emails you are receiving, check out the email headers as described above to see where they come from.
For the record, I do not send unsolicited email, I do not send virus emails, my computer is free of viruses, the apps@highertendencies.com is an email account that doesn’t exist and I don’t send email through US mail servers (which is where these are coming from).
If you have any questions, please send me an email.
Cheers.